Game Designer Scholarship

Mobile Free to Play to Offer Bi-Yearly $1000 Game Design Scholarships

At Mobile Free to Play we value education and helping those in need. We also understand that school can be a significant expense and know how hard it can be for students and their families to make ends meet. Between housing, tuition, books, and school supplies, the cost of attending college or graduate school can easily rise into the tens of thousands of dollars, if not more. In an effort to make things a little easier for and game design students and their families, we are pleased to be offering a bi-yearly $1,000/£1000 scholarship to the best potential candidates who want to Study a Game Design course at a US or UK University.

Essay Topic

In order to apply for the Fall 2018 scholarship contest, applicants must submit a 500+ word essay on the following topic:

How has the Free to Play model affected the mobile game industry?


How will Free to Play mobile gaming evolve in 2018?

Application Guidelines

The application guidelines are as follows:

  • Essays must be received by August 15, 2018 9 AM EST.
  • Applications should be emailed to [email protected] in word format (.doc / .docx), links to Google Docs or PDFs will not be considered
  • Applicants should include their name, address and phone number.
  • The applicant should state where they are currently attending or planning to attend school in the body of their submission email.
  • No additional information should be included.
  • Once the application deadline has passed, the essays will be reviewed and judged based on the following criteria:
    • Responsiveness to the question
    • Grammar and style
    • Thoughtfulness and originality
    • The persuasiveness of the arguments presented
    • Use of proper citations / links

We look forward to reading your submissions and helping the winners meet their educations costs. The winner of the Fall 2018 scholarship will be announced by August 31, 2018.

Previous Winners


Anjali Kalra – $1000
Ty Samuels – $1000
Clayton Wilson – $1000
Anna Mavrakis – $1000